Service Awards

Tennessee Sheep Producers gives out awards to people who go above and beyond for the sheep industry in the state of Tennessee.  These awards are presented at our annual meeting.

Tennessee Sheep Producers Association Service Award

This award is given to an individual or organization for their promotion or service to the TN Sheep Industry.

2023 Recipient - Upper Cumberland Extension Group

Pictured above is Jason Garrett on the left representing the Upper Cumberland Extension Group. The group consist of 11 counties in middle TN.

Smith County – Chris Hicks

White County – Scott Swope

Van Buren County – Chris Binkley

Macon County – Keith Allen

Overton County – Jason Garrett

Putnam County – Wayne Key

DeKalb County – Johnny Barnes

Jackson County – Dill Hughes

Trousdale County – Jason Evitts

Pickett County – Billy Garrett

Clay County – Kristen Rich

Previous Award Winners
  • TN Farmers CO-OP
  • Bill Morgan – Union Co 4H
  • TN Livestock Producers
  • Sumner Co 4H
  • Appalachian Fair
  • Jane Hobbs
  • Unionville Livestock Market
  • UT Food Science & Tech Dept
  • TN Tech University
  • TN Valley Fair
  • Warren Gill
  • Mid-South Fair
  • Wilson Co Fair
  • Tractor Supply Co
  • Martha Jo Tolley
  • Bob Brinkmann
  • Steve Sutton
  • Maury & Blount Farmers CO-OP
  • Richard Brown TN Tech
  • Jim Neel
  • Angie York Glascock
  • Oscar Peavy – Showstopper
  • Keith Harrison
  • Darrell Ailshie
  • John Riley
  • Ruth Correll
  • Julius Johnson
  • Snaps Ferry
  • Randall Kimes
  • Lacy Upchurch
  • Alan Bruhin
  • Joe Riddle – Edgefield Prime
  • Jerry Lamb
  • Ben Powell

Ben Powell Shepherd's Award

This award is given to a member of TSPA that has shown outstanding service to the Association & the TN Sheep Industry.

2023 Recipient - Herman Radke

Herman and his wife Katie from Ten Mile, TN, raise hair sheep and spend all their time awake promoting sheep and lamb in their area. With a farm shop on site and setup at a farmers market almost every weekend, you can bet they are talking sheep to someone. Herman has been great asset to TSPA over the years anytime we have asked. Congratulations!

Previous Award Winners
  • Thomas Montgomery
  • Herbert Patton
  • Herschel Ligon
  • Long and McDougal
  • Sue Welch
  • Jim Pope
  • Luther Agee
  • David Gordon
  • Jerry McCoy Family
  • Bill West
  • Paul & Judy Roberson
  • Randy & Sarah Gratz
  • Ralph Lovely
  • David Doan Family
  • Tommy Cannon Family
  • Ralph Meacham
  • Dewayne Perry
  • Shirley & George DeBusk
  • Edward & Carol Bowman
  • Jane & Kim Caulfield
  • Bill & Connie Kuecker
  • Ben Powell
  • West Family
  • Coonie Dalton Family
  • Rick Skillington
  • Chris Wilson
  • Dwight & Rita Loveday
  • Mark Shedden
  • James Trivett Family
  • Reyes Rich
  • Joe Hall
  • Greg Brann
  • Jerry Dickerson
  • Steve Officer
  • Mark Powell

Tennessee Sheep Producers Extension Educator Award

This award is given to an individual or organization for their promotion or service to the TN Sheep Industry.

2023 Recipient - Amanda Mathenia

Amanda has worked with sheep producers from the Mississippi River to the Cumberland River, coordinated annual TN Master Small Ruminant Producer programs, serves on the state Small Ruminant workgroup, and specializes in teaching FAMACHA, Business Principles, and Small Ruminant Quality Assurance. She’s even traveled to Utah and Wyoming to study the industry. Her favorite part of working within the sheep industry is when she is called out for farm visits during lambing season. Congratulations!

Previous Award Winners
  • Matt Webb